clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pro Football Hall of Fame Semifinalists Announced

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The National Football League has announced its group of semifinalists for potential enshrinement as part of the Class of 2015.

As we've known for quite a while now, former Minnesota Vikings' center Mick Tingelhoff is in as the Senior's Finalist. He and the two "Contributor" Semifinalists, Bill Polian and Ron Wolf, will be voted on separately from the rest of the nominees. They all have to reach the same 80% mark in the voting that everyone else does in order to be enshrined.

Other than that, there aren't many players on this year's list with connections to the Minnesota Vikings, and the ones that do aren't identified with the Vikings by very many people. The three players that did spend time in Minnesota are kicker Morten Andersen (2004), running back Roger Craig (1992-1993), and coach Tony Dungy, who was the defensive coordinator in Minnesota before moving on to coach the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and the Indianapolis Colts.

Here is the full list of nominees. This group of 25 will be narrowed down to 15 in January, with the final voting taking place on Super Bowl weekend.

Morten Andersen, K - 1982-1994 New Orleans Saints, 1995-2000, 2006-07 Atlanta Falcons, 2001 New York Giants, 2002-03 Kansas City Chiefs, 2004 Minnesota Vikings
Steve Atwater, S - 1989-1998 Denver Broncos, 1999 New York Jets
Jerome Bettis, RB - 1993-95 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, 1996-2005 Pittsburgh Steelers
Tim Brown, WR/KR - 1988-2003 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders, 2004 Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Isaac Bruce, WR - 1994-2007 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, 2008-09 San Francisco 49ers
Don Coryell, Coach - 1973-77 St. Louis Cardinals, 1978-1986 San Diego Chargers
Roger Craig, RB - 1983-1990 San Francisco 49ers, 1991 Los Angeles Raiders, 1992-93 Minnesota Vikings
Terrell Davis, RB - 1995-2001 Denver Broncos
Tony Dungy, Coach - 1996-2001 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2002-08 Indianapolis Colts
Kevin Greene, LB/DE - 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers
Charles Haley, DE/LB - 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys
Marvin Harrison, WR - 1996-2008 Indianapolis Colts
Torry Holt, WR - 1999-2008 St. Louis Rams, 2009 Jacksonville Jaguars
Joe Jacoby, T - 1981-1993 Washington Redskins
Edgerrin James, RB - 1999-2005 Indianapolis Colts, 2006-08 Arizona Cardinals, 2009 Seattle Seahawks
Jimmy Johnson, Coach - 1989-1993 Dallas Cowboys, 1996-99 Miami Dolphins
Mike Kenn, T - 1978-1994 Atlanta Falcons
Ty Law, CB - 1995-2004 New England Patriots, 2005, 2008 New York Jets, 2006-07 Kansas City Chiefs, 2009 Denver Broncos
John Lynch, FS - 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos
Kevin Mawae, C/G - 1994-97 Seattle Seahawks, 1998-2005 New York Jets, 2006-2009 Tennessee Titans
Karl Mecklenburg, LB - 1983-1994 Denver Broncos
Orlando Pace, T - 1997-2008 St. Louis Rams, 2009 Chicago Bears
Junior Seau, LB - 1990-2002 San Diego Chargers, 2003-05 Miami Dolphins, 2006-09 New England Patriots
Will Shields, G - 1993-2006 Kansas City Chiefs
Kurt Warner, QB - 1998-2003 St. Louis Rams, 2004 New York Giants, 2005-09 Arizona Cardinals
Darren Woodson, S - 1992-2003 Dallas Cowboys