clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Report: NFL Wants "Multiple" Teams In Los Angeles

According to Jason LaCanfora of CBS Sports, the National Football League has acknowledged that they want to move multiple teams to Los Angeles, with the moves coming as soon as next season.

From what LaCanfora says in his article, two teams have already expressed an interest in playing in Los Angeles in 2015. Those two teams are the St. Louis Rams and the Oakland Raiders. A bit ironic, as the 2014 season is the 20th season that the NFL has played since both of those teams left Los Angeles following the 1994 season.

If the Raiders were to relocate, it would be the second time that they've moved from Oakland to Los Angeles. The Raiders started in Oakland in their AFL debut season of 1960 and played in Oakland until 1981, when they moved to Los Angeles. They then moved back to Oakland following the 1994 season. The Rams, on the other hand, started in Cleveland in 1937, and moved to Los Angeles prior to the start of the 1946 season (after they won the NFL Championship in 1945, no less). They then stayed in Los Angeles from 1946 to 1994 when they moved to St. Louis.

Another team that is rumored as a possible target to move to Los Angeles is the San Diego Chargers (who played their first season in Los Angeles in 1960 before moving to San Diego). However, they're not viewed as nearly as strong a target to move as the Rams and the Raiders are.

More than anything, I wanted to do a post on this to remind anything that, whatever happens to the Minnesota Vikings this season, they're not moving to Los Angeles or anywhere else, as by 2016 they will be playing their home games in the best stadium in the National Football League, and quite possibly all of professional sports. It's nice to say that every once in a while to irk the whining, Viking-hating babies that, for whatever reason, still seem to be angry that Minnesota Vikings fans aren't losing their team to another market.

Minnesota Vikings then, Minnesota Vikings now, Minnesota Vikings always.