clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Teddy Bridgewater Named To PFWA All-Rookie Team

Hannah Foslien/Getty Images

The Pro Football Writers of America have named their 2014 All-Rookie Team, and to the surprise of nobody (with the possible exception of Oakland Raiders fans), Minnesota Vikings' quarterback Teddy Bridgewater has been named the team's quarterback.

Bridgewater started 12 games for the Vikings in 2014, and completed 64.4% of his passes (the third-highest percentage for a rookie in NFL history) and threw for 2,919 yards, as well as 14 touchdowns and 12 interceptions. He also notched six victories on the season, which was as many victories as all of the other rookie quarterbacks in the NFL this season combined.

Unfortunately, Bridgewater was the only member of the Vikings to make the team. The PFWA named Giants' receiver Odell Beckham, Jr. the Offensive Rookie of the Year (as well as the overall Rookie of the Year), while St. Louis Rams' defensive tackle Aaron Donald was named the Defensive Rookie of the Year.

Congratulations to Teddy Bridgewater on making the PFWA All-Rookie Team. The full All-Rookie Team looks like this:

2014 PFWA ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: WR Odell Beckham Jr., New York Giants

2014 PFWA OFFENSIVE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: WR Odell Beckham, Jr., New York Giants

2014 PFWA DEFENSIVE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: DT Aaron Donald, St. Louis Rams



QB - Teddy Bridgewater, Minnesota Vikings

RB - Jeremy Hill, Cincinnati Bengals; Tre Mason, St. Louis Rams

WR - Odell Beckham Jr., New York Giants; Mike Evans, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

TE - Jace Amaro, New York Jets

C - Corey Linsley, Green Bay Packers

G - Joel Bitonio, Cleveland Browns; Zach Martin, Dallas Cowboys

T - Taylor Lewan, Tennessee Titans; Ja'Wuan James, Miami Dolphins


DL - Aaron Donald, St. Louis Rams; Timmy Jernigan, Baltimore Ravens; Kony Ealy, Carolina Panthers; Justin Ellis, Oakland Raiders

LB - Chris Borland, San Francisco 49ers; Khalil Mack, Oakland Raiders; C.J. Mosley, Baltimore Ravens

CB - Kyle Fuller, Chicago Bears; E.J. Gaines, St. Louis Rams

S - Deone Bucannon, Arizona Cardinals; Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Green Bay Packers

Special Teams

PK - Cody Parkey, Philadelphia Eagles

P - Pat O'Donnell, Chicago Bears

KR - Jarvis Landry, Miami Dolphins

PR - De'Anthony Thomas, Kansas City Chiefs

ST - Trey Burton, Philadelphia Eagles