clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Adrian Peterson Officially Wins NFL Rushing Title

Brace Hemmelgarn-USA TODAY Sports

Barring a lot of negative yardage plays this evening, Minnesota Vikings' running back Adrian Peterson has made a little bit of history this season.

Peterson currently leads Tampa Bay running back Doug Martin by 16 yards for the 2015 rushing title. Martin entered the afternoon trailing Peterson by 64 yards, but could only manage 48 yards on 15 carries in the Buccaneers' 38-10 loss to the Carolina Panthers.

Peterson becomes the second-oldest player in NFL history to win an NFL rushing title, at the age of 30 years and 289 days. The only player ahead of him on that list is Hall of Famer Curtis Martin, who was 31 years old when he won the rushing title in 2004.

This is the third time in Peterson's career that he has finished a season as the NFL's leading rusher. He led the league with 1,760 yards in 2008, his second season in the NFL. He also led the league with 2,097 yards in 2012, the year that he was named the NFL's Most Valuable Player.

Even though he has secured the NFL's rushing title for this season, here's hoping he can extend his "lead" starting in about forty-five minutes here.