clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Randy Moss and Ahmad Rashad to be inducted into Vikings Ring of Honor

The two iconic Vikings wide receivers will be the latest additions to the team’s exclusive club.

Super Bowl XLVIII Media Day
Moss will be one of two Vikings wide receivers inducted into the Vikings Ring of Honor in 2017.
Photo by Elsa/Getty Images

The next round of inductees for the Minnesota Vikings Ring of Honor is gonna be straight cash, homie.

The Vikings have just announced the latest additions to the team’s exclusive club, and they are both iconic wide receivers: Randy Moss and Ahmad Rashad.

We could get into all of Moss’ accomplishments, but we’re guessing that you’re all pretty familiar with them and we don’t feel like turning this into a 3,000-word post. Since exploding onto the scene in his record-setting rookie season, Moss captured the adoration of fans and befuddled opposing corners throughout his 14-season NFL career. His otherworldly physical gifts and accomplishments were only matched by his mercurial and cavalier attitude. The latter often got Moss into hot water, but it wouldn’t stop him from carving out a permanent residence in Vikings fans’ hearts.

Rashad spent the best years of his 10-year stint in the NFL with the Vikings, playing in Minnesota from 1976 to 1982. He made the Pro Bowl four consecutive seasons for the Vikings. Rashad put up some very impressive numbers in an era that was much less pass-happy than our current iteration of the NFL. He’s tied with Moss for second in franchise history with six 50-catch seasons. Rashad caught 400 passes for over 5,000 yards and 34 touchdowns while donning the purple.

Both men were at Vikings headquarters in Winter Park on Wednesday to discuss the announcement with local media. Moss even broke it down with the team after practice:

Moss and Rashad will be the first players inducted into the Ring of Honor since the 2013 season. They will join these 21 previously inducted members:

  • Fran Tarkenton
  • Alan Page
  • Jim Finks
  • Bud Grant
  • Paul Krause
  • Fred Zamberletti
  • Jim Marshall
  • Ron Yary
  • Korey Stringer
  • Mick Tingelhoff
  • Carl Eller
  • Cris Carter
  • Bill Brown
  • Jerry Burns
  • Randall McDaniel
  • Chuck Foreman
  • John Randle
  • Scott Studwell
  • Chris Doleman
  • Matt Blair
  • Joey Browner

Congratulations to both Moss and Rashad for their well-deserved accolades. Which Vikings do you think should be the next to join this elite group in the Ring of Honor? Let us know in the comments.