clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Minnesota Vikings By The Numbers: #94

Another number with not a lot of debate

NFL Divisional Playoffs - Dallas Cowboys v Minnesota Vikings Photo by Elsa/Getty Images

We haven’t seen a lot of excitement in a lot of our early installments of our By The Numbers series about the Minnesota Vikings, and the #94. . .well, it’s not going to break that trend. There have been quite a few players that have worn the number for the Vikings over the years, but only one that has really made a mark in the history of the team.

I speak, of course, of the man we affectionately refer to around these parts as Phat Pat.

Pat Williams started his career with the Buffalo Bills, playing seven seasons in upstate New York before making his way to the Vikings prior to the 2005 season. The Vikings listed him at 317 pounds, but if he was an ounce under tree fiddy I would be shocked.

Williams formed one of the great defensive tackle tandems in team history with his counterpart Kevin Williams, being known as the Williams Wall while they were together with the team. They played a huge role in the Vikings’ run defense being basically impenetrable for a few years, as the Vikings led the NFL in rushing defense in three consecutive seasons. Not coincidentally, Williams was a Pro Bowler in all three of those seasons, and was named a Second-Team All-Pro in 2007. Phat Pat never did provide a whole lot in the way of a pass rush. . .in his six seasons in Minnesota, he collected just 7.5 sacks. . .but he was, without question, one of the best run stoppers of his generation.

Williams hung up his cleats following the 2010 season with the Vikings, and in 2013 signed a one-day contract so that he could retire as a member of the purple.

When you look at the list of the other players that have worn #94 in Vikings’ history, I think it’s easy to figure out why there isn’t a real debate to be had here.

Vikings that have worn the #94:

  • Chris Martin (1984)
  • Paul Sverchek (1984)
  • Tim Bryant (1987)
  • Thomas Strauthers (1989 - 1991)
  • Robert Goff (1996)
  • Tony Williams (1997 - 2000)
  • Pete Monty (2001)
  • Chuck Wiley (2002 - 2004)
  • Pat Williams (2005 - 2010)
  • Justin Trattou (2014 - 2016)

Yep. . .outside of Pat Williams, there isn’t a whole lot to write home about here.

We’ll continue our numerical journey through Minnesota Vikings’ history tomorrow!