clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Minnesota Vikings By The Numbers: #50

There’s only one real choice for this one

NFL: Detroit Lions at Minnesota Vikings
Gerald Hodges was alright, but not nearly the best #50 in Vikings’ history (we don’t have a pic of Jeff Siemon)
Bruce Kluckhohn-USA TODAY Sports

Today, we finish up the 50s in our Minnesota Vikings By The Numbers series, and when we look back at the players in Vikings history that have worn the number 50, there is one that pretty clearly stands out above all the rest.

The Vikings selected linebacker Jeff Siemon in the first round of the 1972 NFL Draft, selecting him at #10 overall. Siemon stepped in immediately as the starter at middle linebacker on the Minnesota defense, and in his 11-year career with the Vikings was a huge part of a defense that played in four NFC Championship Games over the course of five years, winning three of those games to advance to Super Bowls. He started 123 of his 156 games as a member of the Vikings, and was named to four Pro Bowls during that time. He was named as one of the 50 Greatest Vikings of All TIme.

While nobody was nearly on Siemon’s level, there are a few that are worth an honorable mention.

Jeff Brady proved to be a solid middle linebacker for the Vikings in the mid-90s, starting at the position for a couple of seasons after coming over from the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

Though often overshadowed by his older brother, Erin Henderson had a few good years for the Vikings in his own right. He did get a second-team All-Pro nod from Pro Football Focus in 2011, but didn’t get a whole lot of individual accolades outside of this one.

But, in the history of the Minnesota Vikings, the #50 pretty clearly belongs to Jeff Siemon for his performance over the course of his career.

Vikings that have worn the number 50:

  • Dick Grecni (1961)
  • Jim Hargrove (1967 - 1970)
  • Jeff Siemon (1972 - 1982)
  • Dennis Fowlkes (1983 - 1985)
  • Randy Scott (1987)
  • Ray Berry (1987 - 1992, and no, not that Ray Berry)
  • Bobby Abrams (1993 - 1994)
  • Jeff Brady (1995 - 1997)
  • Antico Dalton (1999)
  • Pete Bercich (2000)
  • Patrick Chukwurah (2001 - 2002)
  • Max Yates (2004)
  • Rod Davis (2005 - 2006)
  • Marquis Cooper (2006)
  • Vinny Ciurciu (2007)
  • Erin Henderson (2008 - 2013)
  • Gerald Hodges (2014 - 2015)
  • Terrance Plummer (2016)

That puts us halfway home, ladies and gentlemen! We will get into the 40s when we resume the countdown tomorrow.