clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Minnesota Vikings By The Numbers: #38

Not a great number, but one great moment.

Indianapolis Colts v Minnesota Vikings Photo by: Jeff Gross/Getty Images

The number 38 has been another unpopular one in the history of the Minnesota Vikings, with only six players in team history making it their number of choice. While none of the six players that wore it will go down as an all-time great, there was one player that wore the #38. . .probably the most productive of the group. . .that did provide a great moment in Vikings history.

Safety Todd Scott was selected by the Vikings in the sixth round of the 1991 NFL Draft, and by 1992 had already become a solid starter for the team. His biggest moment came in that 1992 season, a year that saw him make the Pro Bowl.

In October of that season, the Chicago Bears came to the Metrodome under head coach Mike Ditka. Chicago had opened up a 20-0 lead that they took into the fourth quarter, and were looking to end things following a Vikings’ punt. Bears quarterback Jim Harbaugh brought his team to the line, surveyed the scene, and called an audible. . .an audible that his running back, Neal Anderson, didn’t hear properly.

Harbaugh threw a pass in the direction of the unsuspecting Anderson, and Scott stepped in front of it, picking it off and racing 35 yards for a score. On the Chicago sidelines, it honestly looked like Ditka was going to do Harbaugh great bodily harm as a result of the play, though I’m pretty sure he didn’t.

More importantly, the interception sparked a tremendous comeback, as the Vikings scored 21 fourth quarter points to eek out a 21-20 victory. Scott would go on to have five picks that year, and seven in his four seasons with Minnesota, but none as big as that one.

That really just about does it for highlights for the #38 in Vikings history. The player pictured above is Naufahu Tahi. We all remember what he was famous for in Vikings’ lore. . .and it’s not a highlight.

Vikings that have worn the number 38:

  • Bob Tucker (1977 - 1980)
  • Fletcher Louallen (1987)
  • Todd Scott (1991 - 1994)
  • Anthony Bass (1998)
  • Rhett Nelson (2003 - 2004)
  • Naufahu Tahi (2007 - 2010)

On to the number 37 tomorrow, folks!