clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Minnesota Vikings By The Numbers: #37

37? I’M 37?!

Buffalo Bills v Minnesota Vikings Photo by Hannah Foslien/Getty Images

In our numerical journey through the history of the Minnesota Vikings, we have reached the number 37. This is another number that really hasn’t had a whole lot of impact in the history of the franchise, although there are a couple of cornerbacks that have been solid for the team while wearing that number in the past.

Chronologically, the first one to look at is cornerback Willie Teal, who played for the team from 1980 to 1986. Teal was drafted by the Vikings in the second round of the 1980 NFL Draft, but did not see the field in his rookie season. He took over as a starter at corner in 1981, and started 61 of the 79 games he played over a five-year stretch. He intercepted 15 passes for the purple in his career, but did not receive any individual awards or honors during the time he played for the Vikings. Following his career in Minnesota, he played for the Oakland Raiders for one season before he retired.

Though he only played for the Vikings for two seasons, cornerback Jimmy Hitchcock had a pretty nice run as a Viking. Acquired via a trade with the New England Patriots prior to the 1998 season, Hitchcock had a huge year for the Vikings that season. He intercepted seven passes, returning three of them for touchdowns, and set an NFL record for interception return yards in a single season that still stands today (242 yards in total). Unfortunately, he couldn’t replicate the performance in 1999, and left Minnesota for the Carolina Panthers before the 2000 season.

We’ll give an honorable mention to defensive back Eric Frampton, who was a pretty solid special teamer for the team from 2007 to 2011, and spawned numerous “Frampton Comes Alive” jokes on social media. That’s gotta count for something.

Vikings that have worn the number 37:

  • Mike Fitzgerald (1966 - 1967)
  • Al Coleman (1967)
  • Willie Teal (1980 - 1986)
  • Phil Frye (1987)
  • Randy Baldwin (1991)
  • Lamar McGriggs (1993 - 1994)
  • Donald Frank (1995)
  • Sean Vanhorse (1996)
  • Leonard Wheeler (1997)
  • Jimmy Hitchcock (1998 - 1999)
  • Tyrone Carter (2000)
  • Ron Israel (2003)
  • Derek Ross (2004)
  • Eric Frampton (2007 - 2011)

That will pretty much do it for the number 37, folks. On to the number 36 tomorrow!


Who is the greatest Viking to wear the number 37?

This poll is closed

  • 34%
    Jimmy Hitchcock (1998 - 1999)
    (248 votes)
  • 65%
    Willie Teal (1980 - 1986)
    (470 votes)
718 votes total Vote Now