clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Vikings Complete Practice Squad With Cornelius Edison, Cedrick Lang

The practice squad is now at ten players with the addition of two offensive linemen

NFL: Preseason-Denver Broncos at Chicago Bears Dennis Wierzbicki-USA TODAY Sports

On Monday, the Minnesota Vikings officially filled out their practice squad, signing two more players to the group.

The team has announced that they have added a couple of offensive lineman, inking center Cornelius Edison and tackle Cedrick Lang to practice squad deals.

Edison has actually been in the league since 2015, and has spent most of his time on the practice squad of the Chicago Bears. He was promoted to the active roster, released, and re-signed to the practice squad by our division rivals, and has appeared in six games in his career. He played his college ball at Portland State, where he was actually the recipient of the FCS Rimington Award in his last season there. The Rimington Award is given to the best center in college football. (Current Vikings’ rookie Pat Elflein won the FBS version of the award last season.)

Edison was actually in training camp with the Atlanta Falcons, but was a part of their final cuts.

Lang was a basketball player at the University of Texas-El Paso, and played four years of basketball before taking advantage of a fifth year of academic eligibility to give football a try. Lang started out as a tight end, but has since moved to offensive tackle. At 6’9”, Lang might now be the tallest player in Vikings’ history (though I’d have to do some more research to confirm that), and he’s gotten his weight up to around 270 pounds. He was in camp with the Denver Broncos this offseason, and he is most definitely a project, to say the least.

With that, the Vikings’ practice squad now has the full complement of ten players.

Minnesota Vikings Practice Squad 2017

Name Position
Name Position
Dylan Bradley DT
Kyle Carter TE
Cornelius Edison C
Bronson Hill RB
Cayleb Jones WR
Cedrick Lang OT
Elijah Lee LB
Ifeadi Odenigbo DE
Horace Richardson CB
Kyle Sloter QB