clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Minnesota Vikings By The Numbers: #1

We have finally made it to the end

Gary Anderson #1...
Trigger warning goes here

Well, folks, after lo these many days, we have finally reached the final number in our Minnesota Vikings By The Numbers series. Yes, we are at the number 1, a number that has been worn by a few people in the history of the team, but will once again come down to either a quarterback or a kicker.

When the Vikings acquired Warren Moon from the Houston Oilers before the start of the 1994 season, there were people that thought they were crazy. After all, Moon was already 39 years old and should have been on the downside of his career at that point. However, Moon proved the doubters wrong in his first two seasons with the Vikings, as he threw for over 4,200 yards in each of those years. In 1995, he was second in the NFL with 33 touchdown passes, though the Vikings only managed an 8-8 record that year. In 1996, he missed half of the season with a broken collarbone, and the starting job was given to Brad Johnson. That was Moon’s last season in purple, as he went on to sign with the Seattle Seahawks. Moon’s two seasons in purple represent the second and third-highest passing yardage totals in a season in Vikings’ history, and he made the Pro Bowl in both of his seasons as the team’s main starter.

After him, we have kicker Gary Anderson. Anderson was also a grizzled veteran by the time he got to Minnesota, and had one of the all-time great seasons in 1998, going perfect on field goals until. . .well, you know. His 84.5% success rate on field goals as a Viking trails only Ryan Longwell for accuracy in team history, and he’s the 8th-leading scorer in team history. He wound up playing five seasons with the Vikings, leaving the team after the 2002 season and playing for two more seasons with the Tennessee Titans before hanging it up at the age of 45.

Vikings that have worn the number 1:

  • Benny Ricardo (1983)
  • Chuck Nelson (1986 - 1988)
  • Warren Moon (1994 - 1996)
  • Gary Anderson (1998 - 2002)
  • Jose Cortez (2003 - 2004)
  • Paul Edinger (2005)

And there you have it, everyone. Our journey through the numerical history of the Minnesota Vikings has been competed. One last poll, a final review, and we can pretty well put this series to bed. Thanks to everyone that came along for the ride!


Who is the greatest Viking to wear the number 1?

This poll is closed

  • 38%
    Gary Anderson (1998 - 2002)
    (515 votes)
  • 61%
    Warren Moon (1994 - 1996)
    (818 votes)
1333 votes total Vote Now