clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Three more Vikings named to Pro Bowl; Everson Griffen, Anthony Barr drop out

They all probably should have been there in the first place

NFC Championship - Minnesota Vikings v Philadelphia Eagles Photo by Al Bello/Getty Images

On Tuesday, three more members of the Minnesota Vikings were named to the Pro Bowl, replacing players that they probably should have been there in front of in the first place.

The first Viking to be named to the team, and the most egregious snub in the entire league, was safety Harrison Smith. Smith, who should have been in the conversation for NFL Defensive Player of the Year, was somehow left off of the Pro Bowl team this year, but is now on the squad. He will replace Landon Collins of the New York Giants, who is sitting out due to injury.

Tight end Kyle Rudolph is also being named to the game in place of Seattle Seahawks tight end Jimmy Graham. Defensive tackle Linval Joseph was also named to the Pro Bowl squad.

Unfortunately, two members of the Vikings has dropped out of the Pro Bowl for this year. Defensive end Everson Griffen, who had been battling a foot injury since midseason, has chosen to set this year’s game out. He will be replaced by Seattle Seahawks defensive end Michael Bennett.

Linebacker Anthony Barr will also not be making the trip to Orlando, as he is citing injury concerns for his non-participation as well. He will be replaced by Carolina Panthers linebacker Thomas Davis.

That makes a total of seven Vikings that were named to this year’s Pro Bowl (Smith, Rudolph, Joseph, Griffen, Barr, Adam Thielen, and Xavier Rhodes). The Pro Bowl will be contested on Sunday at 2:00 PM Central time.