clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Vikings Select 2018-19 Captains

NFL: Minnesota Vikings at Pittsburgh Steelers Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sports

The Vikings have announced their six captains for the 2018-19 campaign, which includes several names you might expect.

On defense, the Vikings named DE Everson Griffen, NT Linval Joseph, and LB Anthony Barr as captains. On offense, they named QB Kirk Cousins, LT Riley Reiff, and TE Kyle Rudolph.

It’s not surprising that Kirk Cousins was named a captain as a new addition this year at QB, replacing QB Sam Bradford last season. Both Rudolph and Reiff were captains on offense last season as well.

Defensively, there are two new captains - Linval Joseph and Anthony Barr - in addition to Griffen who was a defensive captain last season as well.

Certainly all those named as captains are deserving of the honor, but the selections on defense are a little interesting.

Anthony Barr, the one remaining key player who the Vikings have yet to extend this year, being named captain may help reinforce his importance to the team - and hopefully be helpful in getting an extension completed. Barr is also the signal caller on defense.

It’s also interesting that no defensive backs were selected to be a captain - Terence Newman was a captain last season. I would have thought Harrison Smith might be a logical choice to have a captain at each level of defense, but the Vikings went with Linval Joseph and Anthony Barr - replacing Brian Robison and Newman.

Joseph is certainly a leader along the defensive line - in some ways perhaps more than Griffen - and has been for years. He isn’t as vocal as Griffen, but leads in other ways- including by example - and has earned the respect of all of his teammates judging by how they talk about him.

All those selected as captains for the Vikings this season have been to the Pro Bowl at least once, with the exception of Riley Reiff.

Congratulations to all the Vikings captains this season - and best wishes in leading the Vikings to a Super season capped by raising the Lombardi trophy come February!