clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Danielle Hunter, Harrison Smith named Second-Team All-Pros

No other Vikings were on the list

Arizona Cardinals v Minnesota Vikings Photo by Hannah Foslien/Getty Images

With the 2018 regular season officially in the books for the National Football League, the All-Pro Teams for this year have been announced, and in yet another disappointment, only two members of the Minnesota Vikings were named to the squads, both to the Second Team.

Defensive end Danielle Hunter and safety Harrison Smith were both named as Second-Team All-Pros on Friday, as voted on by 50 members of the Associated Press.

Smith was a First-Team All-Pro last season, and while he didn’t have as strong a year in 2018 as he did in 2017, he still showed that he’s on the short list of the best safeties in the National Football League. Hunter finished the season tied for fourth in the National Football League in sacks with 14.5, and this is the first time he’s been named to any sort of All-Pro team. Given that he’s just turned 24 years old and is under contract for the foreseeable future, I’m guessing there are going to be multiple All-Pro teams in his future.

I’m not sure how many other Vikings you could have made a case for this season. Adam Thielen certainly appeared as though he was on track to be named an All-Pro this year, but dropped off pretty dramatically in the second half of the season. Other than that, I can’t think of anyone you could really argue strongly on behalf of.

Congratulations to both Danielle Hunter and Harrison Smith on making Second-Team All-Pro this season. The full teams are below.



Quarterback: Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City Chiefs

Running Back: Todd Gurley, Los Angeles Rams

Flex: Tyreek Hill, Kansas City Chiefs

Tight End: Travis Kelce, Kansas City Chiefs

Wide Receivers: Michael Thomas, New Orleans Saints; DeAndre Hopkins, Houston Texans

Left Tackle: David Bakhtiari, Green Bay Packers

Right Tackle: Mitchell Schwartz, Kansas City Chiefs

Left Guard: Quenton Nelson, Indianapolis Colts

Right Guard: Zack Martin, Dallas Cowboys

Center: Jason Kelce, Philadelphia Eagles


Edge Rushers: J.J. Watt, Houston Texans; Khalil Mack, Chicago Bears

Interior Linemen: Aaron Donald, Los Angeles Rams; Fletcher Cox, Philadelphia Eagles

Linebackers: Luke Kuechly, Carolina Panthers; Bobby Wagner, Seattle Seahawks; Darius Leonard, Indianapolis Colts

Cornerbacks: Kyle Fuller, Chicago Bears; Stephon Gilmore, New England Patriots

Safeties: Eddie Jackson, Chicago Bears; Derwin James, Los Angeles Chargers

Defensive Back: Desmond King, Los Angeles Chargers


Placekicker: Justin Tucker, Baltimore Ravens

Punter: Michael Dickson, Seattle Seahawks

Kick Returner: Andre Roberts, New York Jets

Punt Returner: Tarik Cohen, Chicago Bears

Special Teamer: Adrian Phillips, Los Angeles Chargers



Quarterback: Drew Brees, New Orleans Saints

Running Back: Ezekiel Elliott, Dallas Cowboys

Flex: Christian McCaffrey, Carolina Panthers

Tight End: George Kittle, San Francisco 49ers

Wide Receivers: Julio Jones, Atlanta Falcons; Tyreek Hill, Kansas City Chiefs

Left Tackle: Duane Brown, Seattle Seahawks; Terron Armstead, New Orleans Saints

Right Tackle: Ryan Ramczyk, New Orleans Saints

Left Guard: Joel Bitonio, Cleveland Browns

Right Guard: Marshal Yanda, Baltimore Ravens

Center: Maurkice Pouncey, Pittsburgh Steelers


Edge Rushers: Von Miller, Denver Broncos; Cameron Jordan, New Orleans Saints; Myles Garrett, Cleveland Browns; Danielle Hunter, Minnesota Vikings

Interior Linemen: Chris Jones, Kansas City Chiefs; J.J. Watt, Houston Texans

Linebackers: Von Miller, Denver Broncos; C.J. Mosley, Baltimore Ravens; Leighton Vander Esch, Dallas Cowboys

Cornerbacks: Byron Jones, Dallas Cowboys; Xavien Howard, Miami Dolphins

Safeties: Jamal Adams, New York Jets; Harrison Smith, Minnesota Vikings

Defensive Back: Derwin James, Los Angeles Chargers


Placekicker: Aldrick Rosas, New York Giants

Punter: Johnny Hekker, Los Angeles Rams

Kick Returner: Cordarrelle Patterson, New England Patriots

Punt Returner: Desmond King, Los Angeles Chargers

Special Teamer: Cory Littleton, Los Angeles Rams