clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Vikings increase their number of draft picks signed to eight

Eight is more than three

Mountain West Championship - Fresno State v Boise State Photo by Loren Orr/Getty Images

UPDATE: As promised, here are the particulars of all the rookie contracts signed by the players in this post, per Chris Tomasson of the St. Paul Pioneer Press.

Mattison’s four-year deal is believed to have a value of $3.35 million and a signing bonus of approximately $820,000. His cap figure for 2019 will be around $700,000.

Just about. . .oh, I don’t know, ten minutes ago or so. . .yours truly passed along the news that the Minnesota Vikings had signed three members of their 2019 NFL Draft class.

Apparently that just wasn’t good enough, as during that ten-minute span that number increased from three to eight.

The Vikings just announced on the team website that they have also signed the following members of their draft class:

  • Alexander Mattison, RB, Boise State (third-round pick)
  • Dru Samia, G, Oklahoma (fourth-round pick)
  • Cameron Smith, LB, Southern Cal (fifth-round pick)
  • Dillon Mitchell, WR, Oregon (seventh-round pick)
  • Olabisi Johnson, WR, Colorado State (seventh-round pick)

This means that the only picks that the Vikings have not yet signed are their first round pick, North Carolina State center Garrett Bradbury, sixth-round pick Armon Watts, the defensive tackle from Arkansas, Texas cornerback Kris Boyd, who they selected in the seventh round, and Air Force long snapper Austin Cutting, who was also a seventh-round choice.

It doesn’t sound as though the Vikings are going to get Bradbury signed before the start of rookie mini-camp, but there’s a good chance that the other three that have not yet signed could get their deals finished as well. If today is any indication, Watts, Boyd, and Cutting will probably have their deals finished sometime in the next ten or fifteen minutes.

Once we get financial details of these contracts, which I assume are all four-year deals, we’ll update this post with those particulars.

Congratulations to Alexander Mattison, Dru Samia, Cameron Smith, Dillon Mitchell, and Olabisi Johnson on officially becoming members of the National Football League!