clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Justin Jefferson Jobbed: No OROY for record-setting receiver

The award, instead, went to the second best Justin

Carolina Panthers v Minnesota Vikings Photo by Hannah Foslien/Getty Images

Apparently putting together one of the greatest rookie seasons in NFL history at the wide receiver position was not enough for the people that voted for this year’s NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year.

At tonight’s NFL Honors ceremony, it was announced that the Offensive Rookie of the Year Award did not go to Minnesota Vikings’ wide receiver Justin Jefferson, but rather to Los Angeles Chargers quarterback Justin Herbert.

Jefferson, as we know, set the Super Bowl-era record for receiving yardage in a season with an even 1,400 yards, even though he was the fifth receiver taken in the 2020 NFL Draft and he was tasked with replacing another outstanding receiver in Stefon Diggs. That 1,400-yard season is the highest for any member of the Vikings not named Randy Moss in any season, and was the fourth-highest total in the NFL this year.

Not fourth-highest among rookies. Fourth-highest among everybody.

Jefferson was also named to the All-Rookie Team and, to the best of my knowledge, was the only rookie to be named to either NFL All-Pro Team this season, garnering second-team honors. He was also the first rookie wide receiver to be named an All-Pro since that Moss fella did it back in 1998.

But, whatever. He’s not a quarterback, so I guess all the numbers and records in the world don’t matter.

I guess Justin Jefferson is just going to have to go out and be even better than he was this season in 2021.